So you have just bought a new car (used car) and are wondering whether you can drive it through without number plates or not? Let’s find out
Chances are your new car’s number plates are pending or the used car you purchased has its plates registered to the previous owner.
In both cases, you can drive your car for a few days, weeks, or even months but all this solely depends upon where you live and the laws. Continue reading to know more about this.
Can I drive a car without plates if I just bought it?
Vehicle registration rules vary from state to state. While some states permit driving a just bought car for a fixed time before the registered plates, other states may not allow the same.
Hence, depending upon your location, the authorities may allow you to drive your just bought car for a few hours or days without registered plates.
Or while you wait for your official plates to arrive, you can apply for temporary plates through the DMV or local transportation agency.
In fact, having temporary plates is a better option instead of having none. Once your final number plates arrive, you’ll have to register them with your state’s DMV or local transportation agency.
Does the ‘TEMPORARY CERTIFICATE’ work?
Yes, the temporary certificate or temporary number plates do work for driving your just bought car without permanent plates.
However, the validity of a temporary certificate is just one month.
That is, you can just take your car out for one month without its number plates and would need to complete its final registration within the stipulated time frame.
If you’re unable to register your car for permanent plates during its stipulated time, you also have the option to extend the period by following your state’s process for the same.
Driving cars without plates after purchase in different states
The following table encompasses the laws of different states regarding driving in the state without number plates if you’ve just bought it.
|State||Law for driving the vehicle without plates if just bought|
|Alabama||You can drive the car with a valid sales bill and register for the plates within 20 days of purchase.|
|Alaska||You can drive your car with a trip permit issued by the Alaska Department of Administration (ADA). Register for the plates within 30 days.|
|Arizona||You will require a 30-day general use permit to drive your car for 3-days without plates.|
|Arkansas||No permission to drive without valid temporary tags with a validity of 30 days.|
|California||You can drive your car for 90 days without permanent plates but with a temporary registration, tag attached to the windshield.|
|Colorado||With the bill of sale, you can drive your car for 60 days.|
|Connecticut||Drive your car without plates at $21 per 10 days.|
|Delaware||With a temporary tag costing $20, you can drive your car for just 5 days.|
|Florida||With proof of insurance and a sales bill, you can drive your car for 30 days.|
|Georgia||With proof of insurance and a sales bill, you can drive your car for 7 days.|
|Hawaii||In Hawaii, you can drive your car without permanent number plates if you own the car’s shipping papers, insurance bill, and a temporary registration tag provided by the car dealer.|
|Idaho||If you’re an old resistant, you have 30 days to drive without plates and it’s 90 days for new resistants.|
|Illinois||With TRP (temporary registration permit), you can drive for a minimum of 7 days to up to 90 days.|
|Indiana||You need a 3-day valid TRP if you own the car. Else, you cannot drive without plates.|
|Lowa||With a temporary tag, you can drive for 45 days.|
|Kansas||60 days temporary permit and then 30 days temporary plates.|
|Kentucky||Before registration, the driving period is 30 days with a temporary tag and 15 days after registration.|
|Louisiana||A 60 days temporary tag is a must.|
|Maine||You will need a tag for 10 days and after 10 days, there is a fine.|
|Maryland||Drive for 30 days with a 30-day temporary registration tag.|
|Massachusetts||In Massachusetts, no temporary tags or registration is considered valid for the residents. If you are from another state, you can use that state’s temporary registration to drive.|
|Michigan||With proof of insurance and title, you can ask for a 30 or 60-day validity temporary registration.|
|Minnesota||A 21-day Minnesota TVP (temporary vehicle permit) is a must.|
|Mississippi||Old residents can drive for only 7 days and new ones drive for 3 days.|
|Missouri||30 days of registration is a must.|
|Montana||A 40 days TRP is a must.|
|Nebraska||Need the title of the car to drive for 30 days with a temporary permit.|
|Nevada||Either 30 or 60 days with the movement permit and active insurance.|
|New Hampshire||20 days temporary permit to drive for 20 days without plates.|
|New Jersey||Can drive for 30 days if the car is new with a temporary tag.|
|New Mexico||Can drive for 30 days if the car is new with a temporary tag.|
|New York||Can drive for 30 days if the car is new with temporary registrations.|
|North Carolina||Before registration, you can drive for 3 days and past that, only for 10 days without plates.|
|North Dakota||Before registration, you can drive for 5 days having the ownership proof, and past that, only for 30 days without plates.|
|Ohio||Can drive for 45 days if the car is new with a temporary tag.|
|Oklahoma||Can drive for 30 days if the car is new with a temporary tag.|
|Oregon||Can drive for 30 days with temporary permits.|
|Pennsylvania||Can drive for 90 days with temporary plates issued by the PennDOT or local DMV.|
|Rhode Island||You can drive your car without plates for only 20 days without plates.|
|South Carolina||45 days driving period on the purchase bill.|
|South Dakota||Can drive for 45 days with a 45 days temporary permit.|
|Tennessee||Can drive using the temporary operating permits.|
|Texas||Can drive your car with temporary permits for 3, 5, 6, or 30 days.|
|Utah||Can drive from 96 hours to 60 days on the temporary permit.|
|Vermont||Can drive for around 10 days without plates and permits.|
|Virginia||Can drive for 3 days to 30 days (if you pay 1/12th of the motor vehicle fee).|
|Washington||Can drive from 3 to 60 days with a temporary permit.|
|West Virginia||60 days is the maximum time for driving without plates.|
|Wisconsin||2 to 60 business days without plates and with a temporary tag.|
|Wyoming||You can drive your car for 30, 60, and 90 days with a temporary tag from the treasure’s office.|
- How many miles does a car serve before it dies?
- Here’s how you can find out what kind of car someone drives
So, it’s possible to drive your car even if you don’t have its permanent registration or plates. However, each state has its own set of time frame for driving.